: ZKM :: Artikel :: Events 09 | 2014 :: Quantum Lepas XIX


Events 09 | 2014

Sat−Sun, September 27−28, 2014

The International Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA) as Guest at the ZKM

Sat, Sept 27, 8 p.m.; Sun, Sept 28, 6 p.m. & 8.30 p.m.
ZKM_Cube & ZKM_Media Theater, admission: each day 9/6 €

Information auf Deutsch

This year, scholars of the Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA) will be guests at the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics (IMA) for the nineteenth time. The young composers will present their current works at the festival “Quantum Leaps”, which takes place twice a year.

The first evening of this year’s “Quantum Leaps” program focuses on premier performances and current work. Among these are compositions by Orestis Goumenos, Diego Ramos Rodriguez, Trevor Grahl or Jan Kohl. The second day of the festival is dedicated to performances of works of chamber music by composers such as Helmut Lachenmann and Eduardo Moguillansky. The program also includes works by Enno Poppe and Hans Zender.

Together with the IEMA young musicians and composers, the Frankfurt Ensemble Modern, one of the leading ensembles of contemporary music worldwide, offers the possibility to acquire important experiences for one’s later career. With this long-standing collaboration, the IMA meets its responsibility of promoting and presenting young musical talent, thus creating the space for the emergence of the music of tomorrow.


Sat, Sept 27, 2014
8 pm, ZKM_Cube

Jan Kohl: Blechgebläse 3' (2012−14)
Orestis Goumenos: Elefsina (2014)
Trevor Grahl: From Curious Lands and Places (2014)
Fausto Romitelli: Domeniche Alla Periferia Dell'Impero (1997)
Valerio Sannicandro: Scripta (2003)
Diego Ramos Rodriguez: Puzzle triads − for trombone and ensemble (2014)

Sun, Sept 28, 2014
6 pm, ZKM_Cube

Sascha Janko Dragicevic: Malerba (1997/98)
Helga Arias Parra: Clash! (2013)
Mauro Saleri: Indifferenze (2012)
Helmut Lachenmann: Trio Fluido (1966)
Eduardo Moguillansky: Límites (2005)

8.30 p.m., ZKM_Media Theater
The Thing − a scenic Concert

Enno Poppe: Brot (2007/2013)
Hans Zender: LO-SHu I − für drei bis neun Spieler (1977)

IEMA Ensemble Participants

  • Margarita Timoshin, flute
  • Chiara Percivati, clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Clemens Gottschling, Horn
  • Tom Poulsen, Trumpet, Horn
  • Antonio Jimenez Marin, trombone
  • Gilles Grimaître, piano
  • Galdric Subirana, drums
  • Kyung Won Lee, violin, viola
  • Aki Kitajima, violoncello
Elena Schwarz, conductor

Sofia Fuss, saxophone (on Sept 27)

in cooperation with Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften of the University Gießen and with support by Hessische Theaterakademie
in the context of Quantum Leaps XIX.

- subject to change - photo: IEMA Ensemble, © Barbara Fahle


© 2017 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits