: ZKM :: Artikel :: Events 01 | 2014 :: Matthias Ockert's Polytheistic Ensemble


Events 01 | 2014

Fri, January 24, 2014
Matthias Ockert's Polytheistic Ensemble: re.flex

Multimedia Concert with Jazz, Classical Music and Video
ZKM_Cube, 9 p.m., admission 5

Information auf Deutsch

Energy-charged games fans, cool grooves and risky sound architectures − the new piece by Matthias Ockert and his Polytheistic Ensemble promises a thrilling program on the stage. "re.flex" takes up the musical relationship of man and machine and thus connects contemporary music with jazz and electronics. The sensors around the extended instruments facilitate the integration of the musicians with electronics and live visuals. Pictures of fantastic instruments of new sound worlds emerge through video recordings from robots of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), as well as industrial production processes.

The unconventional line-up with electric guitars, sopranos, trumpets, violins, violoncello, contrabass, drums, live electronics and video voices, as well as live visuals, brings together composition, improvisation and visual art. The public is invited to immerse itself in an associative, oscillating cosmos comprising polystylistic sounds and images inspired by a pantheon of musical models.

In 2012, the Polytheistic Ensemble celebrated its debut and is now guest at the ZKM for the second time. The Polytheistic Ensemble is a flexible laboratory for contemporary chamber music and performing art: melodious, serious architectonic conception as well as its playful and entertaining transgression. The groove-stressed melodies are supplemented by hypnotizing video images, which are musically integrated in loops, ellipses, cycles and parallels.

Matthias Ockert
is one of Wolfgang Rihm composition students, and learned his jazz-guitar technique under Attila Zoller and Bill Connors in New York. With the video artist Dagmar Vinzenz, he worked for the International Film Festival Munich and the Berlin Academy of Arts. The ensembles musicians were in some cases members in the Federal Jazz Orchestra, jazz award-winners of the state of Baden-Württemberg, scholarship holders of the Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg or play in the Karlsruhe Ensemble für Neue Musik TEMA.

Matthias Ockert − composition, electric guitar and electronics
Dagmar Vinzenz − Live-Visuals
Jeschi Paul − Voice
Alwyn Westbrooke − Violin
Paula Valpola− Violoncello
Hans-Peter Ockert − Trumpet
Stefan Schönegg − Contrabass
Thorsten Krill − Drums

For further information, please see: www.matthiasockert.de

- subject to change -

photo: Concert Matthias Ockert's Polytheistic Ensemble


© 2017 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits