: ZKM :: Artikel :: Events 02 | 2013 :: PHACE


Events 02 | 2013

Fri, February 22, 2013
Portrait Concert Arturo Fuentes (MX)
and other works by Iannis Xenakis and Albertas Navickas
with the PHACE Ensemble

At the ZKM_Cube, 8 p.m., admission € 6/9 (tickets online)

Information auf Deutsch

PHACE has been engaged in the contemporary music scene for many years and is among the most innovative and resourceful Austrian ensembles for new music.

Further to the special focus on contemporary chamber music, the ensemble’s artistic spectrum embraces music theater and cross-genre projects such as dance, theater, performance, electronics, video, DJs, turntablists, installations and many more.

To date, more than 200 works have been commissioned and premiered. Launched in 2010, the series PHACE x focuses on spaces for staged “MUSIC – theater” whereby conventional borders between contemporary music, performance, electronics, sound and video(-installation) become porous.

Musicians and guests from the most diverse artistic disciplines frequently augment the ensemble’s active core of ten musicians. Since the mid- 1990s, the ensemble has held performances in the most celebrated concert venues, and appeared in renowned festivals both within Austria as well as abroad, such as Wien Modern, Klangspuren Schwaz, the Salzburg Festival, Generator, Wiener Konzerthaus, Transart Bozen, Berliner Festspiele, Ultraschall Berlin, Salihara Festival Indonesia, SONEMUS Festival, Bludenzer Tage zeitgemäßer Musik.
PHACE has its own cycle at the Wiener Konzerthaus since the 2012/13 season.

For further information, please go to: www.phace.at


Arturo Fuentes: "Space Factory V”, 2012
Fur flute, violine and electronics

Iannis Xenakis:"Charisma", 1971
For clarinet and cello

Arturo Fuentes: "Dunkelkammermusik", (UA, 2012/2013)
For bass flute, bass clarinet, viola and cello

Albertas Navickas: "Accidental", 2011
For violin, piano, electronics and film
(Prize for composition «Towards the Next 100 Years» of the Wiener Konzerthauses in the category «Audiovisual/multimedia Work»)

Arturo Fuentes: "Skifir", 2011
For flute, bass clarinet, piano, violin, viola and cello

PHACE line up: Simeon Pironkoff, conductor; Doris Nicoletti, flute; Walter Seebacher, clarinet; Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano; Ivana Pristasova, violin; Elaine Koene, viola; Roland Schueler, cello

Subject to change

photo: Ensemble PHACE
© Oliver Topf


© 2017 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits