: ZKM :: Artikel :: Events 12 | 2010 :: IMATRONIC


Events 12 | 2010

Wed-Sun December 01–05, 2010
Concerts – Studios – Lectures – Discussions – Children’s Concerts– Prize Ceremonies

Acousmonium. The Art of Projected Sounds
The Parisian Loudspeaker Orchestra at ZKM

Giga Hertz Prize 2010
Walter-Fink-Preis of the ZKM
at ZKM | Karlsruhe
admission €9/6 (concert), festival ticket €22/14

(tickets online)
free admission to symposia and children’s concerts

Information auf Deutsch

The IMATRONIC Festival moves the acousmonium to the center of attention. The acousmonium is a unique loudspeaker orchestra from Paris; an arrangement of 80 acoustically distinct loudspeakers, which are also different in terms of sound and optics, that is tuned in a special way for the interpretation of acousmatic music.  The Festival at the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics under the leadership of Ludger Brümmer and Julia Gerlach, developed in cooperation with Daniel Teruggi (director of the Groupe de Recherches Musicales – GRM), devotes itself to this special musical phenomenon from France in concerts, studios, and a two-day symposium. The festival will install the Acousmonium in the media theater for one week and at the same time celebrate the 100th birthday of  Pierre Schaeffer, founding father of "musique concrète", from which acousmatic music emerged. The Acousmonium was developed by composer François Bayle at GRM in 1974 and serves for the detection and spatial differentiation of complex and multilevel soundscapes. The loudspeakers become instruments, each with its own sound characteristic.  The loudspeaker orchestra is served by a "sound director" who"interprets" the compositions like a musician. France’s seminal acousmatic music composers have been invited.

As highlight and finale of this year’s annual program, the Giga-Hertz prize 2010 for electronic music (hosted by ZKM | IMA and EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR) and the Walter Fink prize of the ZKM for dance electroacoustic music and media, will be awarded as part of IMATRONIC. The compositions of the new prize winners 2010 and the commissioned compositions from the prize winners 2009 promise a colorful diversity.

Program Acousmonium |
Giga-Hertz-Prize 2010 | Walter-Fink-Prize of the ZKM

Wed December 01, 2010
     8 p.m.: _actuel
     Studio concert: Interpretation electronic compositions with
     the acousmonium
     with Jakob Gille (premiere), Seunghyuk Lim (premiere), and others
     ZKM_Media Theater

Thurs December 02, 2010
     6 p.m.: _portrait
     Björn Gottstein in conversation with Eliane Radigue
     ZKM_Lecture Hall

     8 p.m.: _rencontre
     Concert with composers from Germany and France
     ZKM_Media Theater

     Béatriz Ferreyra "L’Autre rive (The other shore)" (2007), work
     by the French state and IMEB 2007
     Francis Dhomont  "Objets retrouvés" (1996, interpreted by Hans
     Ludger Brümmer "Cellularium" (2009)
     Hanna Hartman "Attfallagrovatrad" (2004, interpreted by Béatrix
     Hans Tutschku "Firmament-schlaflos" (2010)
     Luc Ferrari "Ètudes aux accident" (1958) and "Étude aux sons
     tendus" (1958) (interpreted by Ludger Brümmer)
     Total length of concert: 74 minutes

Fri December 03, 2010
     7 p.m.: _keynote
     Lecture by François Bayle
     ZKM_Media Theater

     8 p.m.: _acousmatique & experimentale
     Concert with acousmatic music from France
     ZKM_Media Theater

     Daniel Teruggi "Spaces of Mind" (2004)
     Diego Losa / Beat-boxer Rewind "Human-Concrete-Music-Project"
     Christian Zanési "Ambiance Matisse" (premiere, 2010)
     Giuseppe Ielasi "Performance" (2010)
     François Bayle "Rien n’est réel" (premiere, 2010)
     Total length of concert: 79 minutes

     10 p.m.: _flux
     Electronic music concert with Eliane Radigue
     Eliane Radigue "Adnos III" (1981)
     Total length of concert: 71 minutes

Sat December, 04 2010
      _symposium: Spatial concepts and aesthetics in dialogue
     10 a.m.–4 p.m.: Talks and lectures by
     Christoph von Blumröder (D), Béatriz Ferreyra (F), Rudolf Frisius
     (D), Gottfried Michael Koenig (NL), Robert Normandeau (CAN),
     Daniel Teruggi (F)
     4 p.m.: Discussion with Christoph von Blumröder, Hans Tutschku,
     Robert Normandeau, Béatrix Ferreyra
     Host: Ludger Brümmer
     ZKM_Lecture Hall

     3 p.m.: _enfants
     Children’s concert with the Parisian Loudspeaker Orchestra
     and selected compositions
     Host: Daniel Teruggi
     ZKM_Media Theater

     from 7 p.m.: Giga Hertz Prize 2010
     Walter-Fink-Preis of the ZKM  

     Awards ceremony and concerts

Sun December 05, 2010
     _symposium: Media Performances of Acousmatic Music
     10 a.m.–1 p.m.: Lectures by Björn Gottstein (D), Joyce Shintani
     (D), Christian Zanési (F)
     1 p.m.: Discussion with Björn Gottstein, Giuseppe Ielasi, Joyce
     Shintani, and Christian Zanési
     Host: Julia Gerlach
     ZKM_Lecture Hall

Festival direction: Ludger Brümmer Head of ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics, Julia Gerlach Project coordination

A festival by the ZKM | IMA (Institute for Music and Acoustics)
In cooperation with EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR, Ina GRM.
Sponsored by impuls neue Musik

Further information:
ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics


© 2017 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits