: ZKM :: Artikel :: Events 12 | 2010 :: Giga-Hertz- | Walter-Fink Prize 2010


Events 12 | 2010

Sat December 04, 2010
Giga-Hertz-Prize 2010
Walter-Fink-Prize of the ZKM

Concerts and awards ceremony
ZKM | Karlsruhe, from 7 p.m., free admission
Patron Giga-Hertz prize 2010: Stefan Mappus, President of the State of Baden-Württemberg

Information auf Deutsch

Giga-Hertz-Prize 2010
ZKM, together with the SWR broadcasting network’s EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO, will award the fourth Giga Hertz prize for electronic and acousmatic music. The main prize honors the artistic oeuvre of a renowned composer.  The prize is not based on a public call, but is, instead, determined on the basis of nominations from the members of the jury. The four production prizes serve to initiate and support new projects and are thereby oriented especially on emerging composers. The 2010 Jury includes: Peter Weibel (CEO ZKM | Karlsruhe), Ludger Brümmer (Director ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics), Detlef Heusinger (Director of SWR’s EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO), Daniel Teruggi (Composer, Director Groupe de Recherches Musicales de l'Institut National de l’Audiovisuel, Paris) und Harry Vogt (Editor, New Music WDR, artistic director of the Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik).
The Giga Hertz prize is dedicated to the world-famous physicist Heinrich Hertz (1857–1894), who taught at Karlsruhe’s technical university in the late nineteenth century and while there, discovered electromagnetic waves. This prize for electronic and acousmatic composition is unique in Germany and points out the importance of electronic music, especially in  Baden- Württemberg – as it is awarded by the most important German studios for electronic music: the  Freiburg EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR broadcasting network and ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics in Karlsruhe.

Main prize 2010: Gottfried Michael Koenig (*1926 Germany)
Production prizes 2010:Dániel Péter Biró (*1969 in Hungary, lives in Canada) / Robert Normandeau (*1955 Canada) / José Miguel Fernandez (*1973 in Chile, lives in France) / Orestis Karamanlis (*1978 Greece)
Special prize for technical innovation: Jaime E. Oliver La Rosa (*1979 Peru)

Walter-Fink-Prize of the ZKM

In 2010, the second Walter Fink prize for dance, electroacoustic music, and media will be awarded. The production prize for technically innovative combination of choreography and sound is oriented on teams consisting of composers, choreographers, dancers, and stage designers. How can the relationship of dance and contemporary music be re-defined in light of interactive media in the twenty-first century? The music patron Walter Fink, seeks to find an answer with the ZKM’s Walter Fink prize for dance, electroacoustic music, and media, which he founded for the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics. The 2010 Jury includes: Ludger Brümmer (Director ZKM | Institute for Music und Acoustics), Walter Fink (Music patron), Achim Heidenreich (ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics, Director musiktheater intégrale | University of Arts and Design Karlsruhe), and VA Wölfl (photographer, choreographer, director company NEUER TANZ, Schloss Benrath).

Walter Fink prize of the ZKM  for dance, electroacoustic music and media: Daniel Berwanger and Pipo Tafel

Giga Hertz prize 2010 | Walter Fink prize

from 7 p.m.:

Awards ceremony Walter Fink prize 2010
Awards ceremony Giga Hertz prize 2010

with performative interventions
Moderation: Peter Weibel, CEO ZKM | Karlsruhe

ZKM_Media theater
Prize winners interpret
electronic compositions on the

Prize winner concert
A work by the main prize winner 2010
and commissioned works by the
Production prize winners 2009
Valerio Murat "Habeas Corpus – anatomia dell’imaginazione e visioni dell’assoluto" (premiere)
Francisco Colasanto "Zero KiloMetro" for piano and electronics (premiere)
Panayiotis Kokoras "Magic" for cassette recorder (premiere)

Further information:  www.giga-hertz.de, www.fink-preis.de

Giga-Hertz-Preis Fünf Auszeichnungen warten auf die Preisträger. Aufnahme von der Preisverleihung 2009
© Foto: Kai Hanneken


© 2017 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits