: ZKM :: Artikel :: Exhibitions 08|2009 | Collectors Choice I + II


Exhibitions 08|2009

through October 18th, 2009
Collectors' Choice I + II
An exhibition at the ZKM | Museum of Contemporary Art
1st and 2nd floors

Information auf deutsch
List of Artists

Collectors' Choice I emerged in the context of the exhibition "Vertrautes Terrain. Contemporary Art in and about Germany", which was shown last year at the ZKM | Museum of Contemporary Art. The works that are to be exhibited in Collectors' Choice I are drawn from the Boros, Grässlin Landesbank Baden-Württemberg collections and were selected in close collaboration with these. The focus of the selection centered both on art produced in Germany as well as on works specifically dedicated to German themes and events past and present. Extending back to the beginning of the 1980s, Collectors' Choice I thus presents not only insights into individual forms of collecting history and politics but also into German art history. In this way, the newly presented exhibition facilitates a reencounter with established positions such as the meanwhile internationally famous Becher-School, with Stephan Balkenhol, Rosemarie Trockel or Andreas Slominski, or the fiercely and provocative works by such artists as Werner Büttner, Georg Herold and Franz West. Among the works from a total of 40 artists, and alongside "classics" spanning the last thirty years there are also more recent positions by Jonathan Meese, Tobias Rehberger, Daniel Richter and Thomas Zipp, for example.

Curated by Gregor Jansen together with Christian Boros, Lutz Casper, Bärbel, Karola and Thomas Grässlin.

Recommended Links:
· Vertrautes Terrain

In addition to the first part of the exhibition "Collectors' Choice," works will be shown from the FER Collection, the Siegfried Weishaupt and the VAF Collection on the mezzanine floor of the ZKM | Museum for Contemporary Art. Hence, on the occasion of the ten year anniversary of the Museum of Contemporary Art, through to mid October all the collections that have collaborated with the ZKM will be represented by numerous works. As a recent addition, Collectors’ Choice II shows a small art historical retrospective and overview of important tendencies in art of the second half of the 20th century; among others, these will include Conceptual Art, Op Art, Kinetics, Pop Art and the abstract art of the 1960s and 1970s. In this connection works by Mark Rothko, On Kawara, Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Hanne Darboven and Bruno Munari can be viewed.
Works by Markus Oehlen and Walter Dahn are exemplary compliments to the painting of the Junge Wilden [Wild Youth] of the 1980s. The arc spanning to the present is completed by a series of contemporary works drawn from three private collections extending from figurative painting through conceptual approaches and video art, thus demonstrating the broad scope of interests among the collectors at the ZKM | Museum of Contemporary Art. Here, among others, works by Davide La Rocca, Mathieu Mercier, Gerold Miller, Vincent Szarek, Isabell Heimerdinger and Chiara Dynys will be exhibited.

Curated by Gregor Jansen and Andreas F. Beitin with Friedrich E. Rentschler, Siegfried Weishaupt and Volker Feierabend.

Guided Tours: Sat 2pm. (together with Martin Walde. Hallucigenia)
Guided tours on special topics in the ZKM | Museum of Contemporary Art: Sun 11.30am.

List of artists, Collectors Choice I:
Stephan Balkenhol · Tim Berresheim Michael Beutler · Cosima von Bonin · Werner Büttner · Thomas Eggerer · Günther Förg · Isa Genzken · Andreas Gursky · Uwe Henneken · Georg Herold · Candida Höfer · Martin Honert · Hubert Kiecol · Martin Kippenberger · Astrid Klein · Michel Majerus · Jonathan Meese · Meuser · Reinhard Mucha · Marcel Odenbach · Albert Oehlen · Markus Oehlen · Tobias Rehberger · Daniel Richter · Thomas Ruff · Thomas Schütte · Andreas Slominski · Florian Slotawa · Thomas Struth · Rosemarie Trockel · Ina Weber · Franz West · Christopher Williams · Georg Winter · Johannes Wohnseifer · Peter Zimmermann · Thomas Zipp ·

List of artists, Collectors Choice II:
Marina Apollonio · John Armleder · Robert Barry · Jean-Michel Basquiat · Alighiero Boetti · Monica Bonvicini · Daniel Buren · Antonio Calderara · Anthony Caro · Attilio Carreri · Nicola Carrino · John Chamberlain · Claude Closky · Davide Coltro · Franco Costalonga · Benjamin Cottam · Miro Cusumano · Walter Dahn · Hanne Darboven · Fernando De Filippi · Leonida De Filippi · Jiri Georg Dokoupil · Chiara Dynys · Ulrich Erben · Rainer Fetting · Dan Flavin · Isabell Heimerdinger · Emilio Isgrò · Enrico Iuliano · On Kawara · Joseph Kosuth · Davide La Rocca · Roy Lichtenstein · Robert Longo · Morris Louis · Mathieu Mercier · Gerold Miller · Carmengloria Morales · Bruno Munari · Bruce Nauman · Kenneth Noland · Markus Oehlen · Luca Pancrazzi · Federico Pietrella · Remo Remotti · Mark Rothko · Kenny Scharf · Josef Schulz · Paolo Scirpa · Markus Sixay · Vincent Szarek · Nanda Vigo · Andy Warhol · Tom Wesselmann

- subject to change -


© 2017 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits