: ZKM :: Artikel :: Events 11 | 2008 :: Giga-Hertz-Award, 2008


Events 11 | 2008

Fr–Sa, November 28–29, 2008
Giga-Hertz-Award 2008

Music Festival and Awards Ceremony at the ZKM_Media Theater, ZKM_Foyer and ZKM_Cube

Festival Program
Information auf Deutsch

For the second time in succession, the ZKM | Centre for Art and Media together with the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of SWR will be awarding the Giga-Hertz-Award for Electronic Music. At € 15.000, and with four additional awards for production, each at € 8.000, the Giga-Hertz-Award is worldwide the most endowed prize for electronic music for the life work of a composer. The jury in 2008 was constituted of the artistic directors of the studios participating Ludger Brümmer (ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics), Detlef Heusinger (Experimentalstudio of SWR), also François Bayle (pioneer of electro-acoustic and acousmatic music, and developer of the acusmonium), Jonathan Harvey (composer and winner of the first Giga-Hertz-Mainprize in 2007 as acknowledgement for his life’s work), Armin Köhler (editorial director for New Music at SWR and responsible for the Donaueschinger Festival) as well as Peter Weibel (CEO of the ZKM | Karlsruhe, former director of Ars Electronica in Linz).

Patron of the Giga-Hertz-Award 2008 is Günther H. Oettinger (Prime Minister of the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg).


(Programmänderungen werden rechtzeitig
auf dieser Webseite bekanntgegeben.)

Prize Winner Concert I

Friday, November 28, 2008
in ZKM_Medientheater at 8 p.m. admission € 9/6

Pierre Boulez
"Dialogue de l’ombre double" (1982-85)
for Clarinet and Live-Electronic

João Pedro Paiva de Oliveira
"Beyond" (2006)
for Clarinet, Cello, Piano und Electronic-Sounds
Special Award Winner 2008

Dai Fujikura
"moromoro" (2003)
for Piano and Electronic (with Video)
Special Award Winner 2008

Luigi Nono
"A Pierre. Dell’azzurro silenzio, inquietum" (1985)
for Flute, Clarinet und Live-Electronics

Karlheinz Stockhausen
"Prozession" (1967)
for Viola, Piano, Percussion, Electronium, Mikrophonist and Live-Electronics


with ensemble recherche:

Barbara Maurer, Viola
Åsa Åkerberg, Violoncello
Martin Fahlenbock, Flute
Jaime González, Mikrophonist
Shizuyo Oka, Clarinet
Christian Dierstein, Percussion
Jean-Pierre Collot (Oliveira, Stockhausen)
Klaus Steffes-Holländer (Fujikura, Stockhausen)

Joachim Haas, Sound Design
Gregorio Karman, Sound Design
Annesley Black, Sound Design Assistent

Award Ceremony Giga-Hertz-Prize 2008
Saturday, November 29, 2008
in ZKM_Foyer at 7 p.m., admission free

Greeting by
Peter Weibel
(ZKM | Center for Art and Media)
Heinz Fenrich (Mayor of Karlsruhe)
Klaus Tappeser (Assistant Secretary of State)

Giving Away of Awards by
François Bayle (former Head of the GRM, Paris)
Dorothea Enderle (SWR)
Bernhard Hermann (SWR)
Gerhard R. Koch (FAZ)
Erwin Vetter (Minister retired)

Moderation: Peter Weibel
(ZKM | Center for Art and Media)

Prize Winner Concert II
Saturday, November 29, 2008 im ZKM_Kubus
at 8.30 p.m., admission free

Natasha Barrett
"Kongsberg Silver Mines" (Concert Version) (2008)
Acousmatic Piece
Special Award Winner 2008
Debut Performance of the "Concert Version"

Åke Parmerud
"La Vie Méchanique" (2004)
Acousmatic Piece
Special Award Winner 2008

Vassos Nicolaou
"Recent" (2008)
for Ensemble and Live-Electronics
Ensemble Modern
Special Award Winner 2007
Debut Performance

Daniel Mayer
"Lokale Orbits / Solo 3" (2008)
for Flute and Multichannel-Tape
Martina Roth (Flute), Ensemble SurPlus
Special Award Winner 2007
Debut Performance

Trevor Wishart
"Imago" (2002)
Acousmatic Piece
Main Award Winner 2008

Ensemble Modern:
Johannes Schwarz, Bassoon
Valentín Garvie, Trumpet
Rainer Römer, Percussion
Rafal Zambrzycki-Payne, Violin

Sound: Sebastian Schottke

The Giga-Hertz-Award will be conferred by the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of SWR and the ZKM | Center for Art and Media.


© 2018 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits