: ZKM :: Institutes and Departments :: Media Library :: IDEAMA
: zur deutschen Version


ZKM_Mediathek | audio collection


IDEAMA was initiated in 1988 by Max Mathews, Johannes Goebel, and Patte Wood, all of them at that time members of Stanford University’s Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics/CCRMA. The aim of IDEAMA’s collection was to preserve the most important and most endangered early works of electroacoustic music (up to about 1970) and to make these works publicly available. In 1990, CCRMA and the newly founded ZKM set IDEAMA up as a co-operative venture. At that time, the planned all–digital archive was considered as »not valid« by important grant institutions in the US… but finally the work at CCRMA was supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

The IDEAMA committees consisted of the 'International Advisory Board', whose prominent members promoted the international reputation and policy of the archive, and the two 'Regional Selection Committees' – one at ZKM for Europe and one at CCRMA for the Americas and Asia. The European selection committee was joined by many important composers of the genre. The Regional Committees drew up a list of 708 works to be included out of which 138 could not be tracked down any more. This target collection was completed in 1997.

The IDEAMA structure is composed of the two 'founding institutions' ZKM and CCRMA together with the 'partner institutions' who collect and produce material themselves. 'Affiliate institutions' will be able to open subscriptions enabling them to add the collection to their own archives. 1996 CCRMA had to withdraw from the project for financial reasons and ZKM has been responsible for the collection since then.

Most of the partner institutions make the collection publicly available:

· Institut de Recherche et de Coordination
  Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM) Paris [F]
· Institut International de Musique Electroacoustique de
  Bourges (IMEB) [F]
· Institut Nationale de l´Audiovisuel /
  Groupe de Recherches Musicales (INA/GRM) Paris [F]
· Instituut voor Psychoacustika en Elektronische Muziek
  (IPEM) Gent [B]
· Instituut voor Sonologie Koninklijk Conservatorium Den
  Haag [NL]
· National Institute of Informatics (NII) Tokyo [J]
  formerly: National Center for Science Information
  Systems (NACSIS)
· New York Public Library (NYPL) [USA]
· Polskie Radio, Contemporary Music Department,
  Warschau [PL]
· Stiftelsen Elektro-Akustisk Musik i Sverige (EMS)   Stockholm [S]

All of the following affiliate institutions - besides both founding institutions - make the collection publicly available:

· Aalborg Universitet Institut for Musik og Musikterapi
· Art Center Nabi, Seoul [ROK]
· Bibliothek der Musik-Akademie der Stadt Basel [CH]
· Brandeis University Library, Waltham, MA [USA]
· Centre For Computational Musicology and Computer
  Music of University of Limerick [IRL]
· Danish Institute for Electroacoustic Music (DIEM),
  Aarhus [DK]
· Institut für Computermusik und elektronische Medien
  (ICEM) der Folkwang-Hochschule Essen [D]
· Institut für Elektronische Musik und Akustik (IEM) der
  Kunstuniversität Graz [A]
· Institut für Musikwissenschaft und Musikinformatik (IMWI)
  der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe [D]
· Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology
  (ICST) / Medien- und Informationszentrum MIZ
  der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste [CH]
· Kungliga Musikhögskolan, Stockholm [S]
· Library of Congress, Recorded Sound Collection,
  Washington, DC [USA]
· Michigan State Universtiy, College of Music, East
  Lansing, MI [USA]
· NoTAM - Norsk nettverk for Teknologi, Akustikk og
  Musikk, University of Oslo [N]
· Stiftung Haus der Klänge, Mädris-Vermol [CH]
  [foundation closed at the end of 1999]

A hard disk holding the collection (with approximately 100 hours of music) thus allowing direct access to all pieces. The accompanying database offers biographical notes on the composers, comments on the pieces and a variety of data about the works themselves in English, German, and French.

Institutions will be able to open subscriptions by signing the so-called Memorandum of Understanding.

For further information please contact:
Hartmut Jörg :: joergzkm.de

The members of the International Board were:
Francois Bayle, Luciano Berio, Lars Gunnar Bodin, Pierre Boulez, John Cage, John Chowning, Hugh Davies, Julio Estrada, Hiroshi Inose, Mauricio Kagel, Francisco Kroepfl, György Ligeti, Max V. Mathews, John Pierce, Steve Reich, Jean-Claude Risset, Pierre Schaeffer, Toru Takemitsu, James Tenney und Iannis Xenakis.

The European selection committee was made up by:
Francois Bayle (France), Nicola Bernardini (Italy), Lars Gunnar Bodin (Sweden), Christian Clozier (France), Hugh Davies (United Kingdom), Rudolf Frisius (Germany), Johannes Fritsch (Germany), Gottfried Michael Koenig (Netherlands), Josef Patkowski (Poland), Josef Anton Riedl (Germany), Herman Sabbe (Belgium) and Jürg Stenzl (Switzerland).

© 2018 ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe :: Impressum/Web Site Credits